

MAY 23, 2010

## WINNERS OF IAWM'S NEW MUSIC COMPETITION ANNOUNCED

The International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM) has selected winners of its 2010 Search for New Music Competition. For the second time in the history of the annual Search, the Ruth Anderson Prize for a new sound installation with electro-acoustic music was included. **Kala Pierson** of New York City, N.Y., has been named to receive the second **Ruth Anderson Prize**. She will receive \$1000 for *Singing Stones* a series of three different installations at stone sculptures in Vienna, Munich, and Amsterdam. Honorable mention goes to **Naomi Lucille Kagaya** and **Stephanie Cheng Smith** for *Concert Earth*, an interactive multimedia performance work.

## Other honorees are:

- Leanna Primiani of Santa Monica, Ca. for the Theodore Front Prize (\$300, sponsored by Theodore Front Musical Literature, Inc.) for a composer of chamber and orchestral works who is at least 22 years old, for *Sirens for orchestra*. Honorable Mentions go to Marion von Tilzer of Amsterdam, Netherlands for *Kisagotami Ouverture for Orchestra, Indian Violin & Tabla* and Laurie San Martin of Woodland, CA, for *nights bright days* for chamber orchestra.
- Marcela Pavia of Milan, Italy, for the Miriam Gideon Prize (\$500) for a composer at least 50 years of age for works for solo voice and between one and five instruments. Pavia won for her piece *Per un addio* per voce recitante e pianoforte. Cynthia Hilts of Brooklyn, NY and Beth Wiemann of Maynard, MA were given honorable mentions for, respectively, *Beauty & Discord Suite* for Voice, Trumpet, and Cello, and *Paul Rice Songs* for Soprano, Flute, and Guitar.
- No prize was awarded for the **Sylvia Glickman Memorial Prize** (\$500, given by Harvey Glickman in memory of his wife and supported by the Hildegard Institute), awarded to a composer at least 40 years old, for a work for piano trio or quartet, or any combination of four instruments, drawing from woodwinds, strings, and piano. The work must be unperformed and unpublished.
- **Peiying Yuan** of Singapore and currently a student at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, for the **Libby Larsen Prize** (\$200), awarded to a composer, of a work in any medium, who is currently enrolled in school. Yuan wins for *Mutability* for large ensemble. Honorable mentions go to Ching-Mei Lin of Ann Arbor, MI, for *Reflections of the Seasons* for orchestra; Nina Sofo of Melbourne, Australia, for *Isola* for guitar and flute.



- Karen Power of Limerick, Ireland, for the New Genre Prize (\$200), awarded for innovation in form or style, including improvisation, multimedia, or use of non-traditional notation. Her winning work is *the colourful digestive palette of slugs* for Bass Clarinet, Grand Piano, and Tape. Honorable mentions go to Jessie Marino of Brooklyn, NY, for *rot blau*, and Natalya Lainhart of Spokane, Washington, for her piece, *The Voyage* for String Quintet, Two Percussionists, Flute/Alto Flute, Bb Clarinet and Voice.
- Bik Kam Lee of Berkeley, Ca., for the Pauline Oliveros Prize (\$150) for works for electro-acoustic media. Her winning piece is *Getting Hammered* for Marimba and Computer. Honorable mentions go to Nina C. Young of Montreal, Canada, for *Kolokol* for two pianos and electronics, and Edith Alonso of Madrid, Spain, for *La jarre mysterieuse*
- Aya Nishina of Brooklyn, NY, for the PatsyLu Prize (\$500) for work in any medium by women of color and/or lesbians, for *WATER HOMAGE: I Kuramitsuha* for tape. Receiving honorable mentions are Linda Dusman of Baltimore, MD, for *Diverging Flints* for Violin, Violoncello, and Piano; and Kipyn Martin of Shepherdstown, WV, for *Gloria* for chorus.
- Tsai-yun Huang of Taiwan and Illinois, for the Judith Lang Zaimont Prize (\$400), for extended instrumental compositions—large solo or chamber works—by a composer at least 30 years old whose music has not yet been recorded or published. The winning piece was *The moon lost in the frost sky* for Solo Flute and 2-channel CD. Honorable mentions go to Chung Eun Kim of Korea and Boston, MA, for the piece, *Septet for Flute, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Violin, Violoncello and Piano*; Eva Kendrick of Providence, RI, for *Against the Grain* for Wind Ensemble and String Trio.
- Amy Fleming of West Chester, PA, for the Ellen Taaffe Zwilich Prize (\$200) for a composition in any medium by a composer 21 years of age or younger. The winning composition is *Plegaria a Dios* for Women's Chorus. Honorable mention goes to Molly Joyce of Pittsburgh, PA for *Astral Illusions* for orchestra.

The jury was comprised of Dr. Reginald Bain and Dr. Samuel Douglas, Professors of Composition at the University of South Carolina. Dr. Sherry Woods served as chair of the IAWM's Competition Committee.